Members Login
Username 
 
Password 
    Remember Me  
Post Info TOPIC: The Vampiric Ways of Nicolas Cage : VAMPIRE'S KISS REVIEW


Faery Queen of Cagealot Castle

Status: Offline
Posts: 8997
Date: 1:46 PM, 10/20/10
The Vampiric Ways of Nicolas Cage : VAMPIRE'S KISS REVIEW
Permalink  
 


It has always felt to me that playing a vampire, not the hollywoodified kind, but the more lost soul in exile misunderstood monster kind, would suit the acting sensibilities of Nicolas Cage. He has had two cinematic journeys into the world of the Vampire genre, as Peter Loew in 1988 film  VAMPIRE'S KISS and as producer with his film company Saturn of the movie Shadow Of The Vampire.

dracula

'Vampire's Kiss' is up there with my all time favourite Nicolas Cage and vampire movies. Far from a straight up vampire flick, Vampire's Kiss operates on many levels simultaneously, often billed as a dark comedy - and it is hilarious to witness the descent of Peter Loew into his vampirism delusion and his adoption of the crazy eyed, claw fingered, shoulders up body language of 'the movie vampire' - it is also a psychological thriller of epic proportions which ensures the total obliteration of any temptation to call it a vampire parody, by compelling us to witness the deeply painful fall of a literary agent from all sanity.

dracula

For me, whether it was a happy filming accident or not, the synthesis of this movie is a genius balance of dark humour and tragic horror, fun and pain. When Peter Loew finally leaves behind the world of neurosis to enter full blown psychosis, sleeping under his upturned leather sofa which he raises and lowers a coffing lid, buys fake plastic teeth and eats a pigeon, tries to kill himself with wooden stake in the street whilst hallucinating wildly, it is both completely hilarious and utterly disturbing and sad simultaneously. As a viewer, what a uniquely powerful experience to have lightness and heaviness at the same time.

Nic Cage's homage to german expressionistic actiing and the language of the original classic and first silent horror movies is nothing short of a cinematic treat: with deliciious nods to Nosferatu and to the first transformation of John Barrymore in the 1920's silent adaptation of Robert Louis Stevensons' 'Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde'.

The photography and cinematography is clever and stunning, the new york buildings gothically sillhoutted against a bleeding sky, horrifically beautiful, and artistically brings the city of New York to life as a character of the movie.

And it looks like I'm not the only one who lover this movie, Rolling Stone lists Peter Loew as portrayed by Nicolas Cage as one of the best vampires, along with Willem Defoe's performance in Shadow Of The Vampire:

The Best and The Worst Vampires on Film and TV



__________________

 

 



Nicalicious

Status: Offline
Posts: 7054
Date: 3:23 PM, 10/20/10
The Vampiric Ways of Nicolas Cage
Permalink  
 


I wonder if Nic studied the Christopher Lee Dracula method.

392772151.jpg
http://cheezburger.com/View/2528679936


Check out Christpher Lee, my favourite vampire.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMAW6RZR2fA



-- Edited by Lady Trueheart on Sunday 7th of November 2010 08:21:42 PM

__________________

Nicolas Cage is my Shaman!
 





Nicalicious

Status: Offline
Posts: 7054
Date: 3:36 PM, 10/20/10
RE: The Vampiric Ways of Nicolas Cage
Permalink  
 


Nic as vampire was wonderful, I really enjoyed and admired Nic in this movie. There is pretty much everything in this movie a die-hard fan of Nic's could want.

The accent did take a bit of getting used to, I have to say. I wonder if it is the one he copied from a L'Eggs commercial?

Thanks for this, Lula, I always love reading your take on Nic's movies.

__________________

Nicolas Cage is my Shaman!
 





Faery Queen of Cagealot Castle

Status: Offline
Posts: 8997
Date: 12:35 AM, 11/21/11
Awesome VAMPIRE'S KISS review
Permalink  
 


We had fun discussing Nic's 1988 film Vampire's Kiss in our Cagealot Film Club a couple of week ago! Here is another take on the film I thoroughly enjoyed!

what do you guys think? do you agree with these points?! or did you have a different experience of the film? 

http://nefariousfilms.blogspot.com/2011/11/remember-this-nic-cage-in-vampires-kiss.html



__________________

 

 



Nicalicious

Status: Offline
Posts: 7054
Date: 3:32 AM, 11/21/11
RE: Awesome VAMPIRE'S KISS review
Permalink  
 


I have only seen the movie once and have not the best memory so some things are hazy, I really need to see it again. But I would agree with most of what he says. By the way, yes, it is an awesome review! I most recall being struck by Nic's physical performance in the movie, he is just amazig in it, and it was not really surprising to me when I read of his inspirations for his characterization. Plus the extreme sadness I felt, the crying scene is one that to me is heartbreaking. Ah, and the voice, I hated it! Which possibly was the intent!



__________________

Nicolas Cage is my Shaman!
 





Faery Queen of Cagealot Castle

Status: Offline
Posts: 8997
Date: 12:32 PM, 11/21/11
RE: The Vampiric Ways of Nicolas Cage : VAMPIRE'S KISS REVIEW
Permalink  
 


Lol! I think I know what you mean about the voice Lady T! I loved it, it revealed alot about the character, and as it fluctuated, about his state of mind..it kind of escalated along with the eye widenings and the gloriuus hand gesturing!! dracula

I don't have much to add that i didn't already write in my own Vampire's Kiss review from  a while back, (which is now at the beginning of the thread, I merged the two topics together) If anyone wants to add their review of the film, please jump right on in!! dracula



__________________

 

 



Faery Queen of Cagealot Castle

Status: Offline
Posts: 8997
Date: 3:49 PM, 03/06/12
RE: The Vampiric Ways of Nicolas Cage : VAMPIRE'S KISS REVIEW
Permalink  
 


For someone who adores Vampire's Kiss, the Nic film that is right up there at the top of my favourites, this review of the film  from Year Of The Cage is an orgy for the eyes!! dracula And if any Nic fans reading the are yet to see Vampire's Kiss, waste not another minute!!!

Oh andfFor anyone who is yet to discover it, you may also be interested to read the NICOLAS CAGE DVD AUDIO COMMENTARY TRANSCRIPT: VAMPIRE'S KISS

here's the review!

http://www.screened.com/news/year-of-the-cage-week-10-vampires-kiss/3524/

some choice excerpts:

"It's something inexplicably personal, completely awe-inspiring, and outright necessary".

"Quality: Something like a billion Cages out of Ten. All of the f****** Cages, okay? All of them".

"There is a name that, when uttered among fans of Our Greatest Living Actor, brings a hushed sense of awe over those in the room. It's a name that is synonymous with all things Nicolas Cage. It is a name that brings with it an overwhelming volume of exasperatingly delivered lines of memorable dialogue, more bug-eyed facial expressions than one ever assumed a single man to be capable of, and more patented Nicolas Cage freakouts than any other movie before it, and any other movie since. That name is Peter Loew."

"Whether it was divine intervention or just the randomness of the universe, the fact remains: Vampire's Kiss is amazing, and Nicolas Cage is amazing in it. Is it the most amazing performance of his career? Quite possibly"

 

 



__________________

 

 

Page 1 of 1  sorted by
Quick Reply

Please log in to post quick replies.

Tweet this page Post to Digg Post to Del.icio.us
Chatbox
Please log in to join the chat!